Why are some wines not suitable for vegetarians?

Posted On December 28, 2017

Sumitra Karki

Naikap, Kathmandu

 

Normally this is because of the agents that have been used to ‘fine’ or clarify the wine, which can be animal derived products like isinglass (from fish) or gelatin (which can be derived from animal bones). There are alternative fining agents like PVPP, a synthetic agent, and Casein which is made from milk (so not suitable for vegans). Vegetarian-suitable wines normally carry that information on the back label.